Visa Information

Lithuania is a member of the Schengen Area so citizens of the countries not included in the waiver agreement need to have a visa to enter the country. Visa application procedure is upon student’s responsibility.

Types of visas:

  • Schengen visa for visits of less than three months.
  • National visa (D) for visits of between three months and a year.

The citizens of 78 recognized countries do not require a visa to enter the country (a list of countries is available at

Citizens of other countries need to apply for a Schengen visa or a National visa at Diplomatic Missions or Lithuanian Consulates. Please contact the diplomatic mission / embassy of the Republic of Lithuania in your country or in the nearest country where it is situated and provide us with the relevant documents. The decision is given in 14 days.

Baltic Summer University can provide you:

  • Acceptance Confirmation (original in English)
  • Mediation Letter (original in Lithuanian)